NSF Research Coordination Network on Institutional Grammar

National Science Foundation Research Coordination Network

Coordinating and Advancing Analytical Approaches for Policy Design

IGRI organizer Saba Siddiki and several IGRI affiliates (see below) are participants in the National Science Foundation funded Research Coordination Network (RCN) (Grant No. 1917908): “Coordinating and Advancing Analytical Approaches for Policy Design.” Network participants are engaged in efforts that align with the foci of the IGRI: 

  1. The development of generalizable and reliable approaches for studying the design of public policy; 
  2. The identification of theoretically motivated criteria for contextualizing policy design assessments; and 
  3. The generation of guidance on how to apply computational and other methods for assessing policy design and studying simulated and actual behavioral responses to policy design. 

Over the next several years, RCN participants will host and participate in numerous meetings, workshops, and doctoral consortia focused on fostering collaboration and intellectual exchange relating to research on the above topics. Ultimately, the RCN will offer guidance for more effective governance in a wide variety of policy domains. The RCN guidance will be valuable for policy designers constructing the language of public policies toward achieving policy objectives. 

Tools, techniques, and research related outputs of RCN related activities will be made available for free to scholars, policymakers, and the broader public following the principles of Commons-Based Peer Production. These will all be made available through the IGRI webpage.

Network Participants

The RCN convenes scholars from public administration, political science, economics, computer science and other fields with expertise in policy design, data science, computational language processing, and behavioral responses to policy directives. Listed below are RCN core personnel, steering committee members, and graduate students.

Core Personnel

Principal Investigators

  • Saba Siddiki – Syracuse University, United States
  • Charlie Schweik – University of Massachusetts Amherst, United States
  • Edella Schlager – University of Arizona, United States
  • Doug Rice – University of Massachusetts Amherst, United States
  • Seth Frey – University of California Davis, United States

Senior Personnel

  • Chris Weible – University of Colorado Denver, United States
  • Tanya Heikkila – University of Colorado Denver, United States
  • Brenda Bushouse – University of Massachusetts Amherst, United States

Steering Committee 

  • Bartosz Pielinski – University of Warsaw, Poland
  • Jonathan Khamkahji – University of Exeter, England
  • Alex Smajgl – Mekong Futures Research Institute, Thailand 
  • Mark Latham – University Birmingham, United States
  • Xavier Basurto – Duke University, United States
  • Daniel DeCaro – University of Louisville, United States 
  • Christopher Frantz – Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway
  • Amineh Ghorbani – Delft University of Technology, Netherlands
  • Arthur Spirling – New York University, United States
  • Insa Theesfeld – Martin-Luther University, Germany

Graduate Students

  • Brandon F. De Bruhl – Syracuse University, United States
  • TBD
  • TBD